NEVER, EVER QUIT

From Unlocking the Secrets of Successful Women:

“Everybody builds a dream in their lifetime. You’re either going to build your dream, or somebody else’s. So build your own” – Christopher LaBrec

I spent a year interviewing and getting to know these successful, talented and passionate women. I was honored that they wanted to be a part of this book and tell their stories of what life demanded of them in order to go beyond their fears, self-doubt, failure, and to finally reach the success they worked so hard to accomplish.

And my hope is as you read these stories they will inspire, motivate, and energize you to pursue your innermost dreams and visions. As Elana Lindquist said: “Success means fulfilling your own dreams, singing your own song, dancing your own dance, creating from your heart and enjoying the journey, trusting that whatever happens, it will be OK.”

It’s a great day in your life when you discover all of your latent abilities, many of which are greater than you realize. So begin now to create your own wonderful and exciting adventure. Putting it simpler, Helen Keller said, Life is either a grand adventure, or it’s nothing.
Joan Kennedy, Story Collector

 

The following is an excerpt from the book:

“Never, Ever Quit. PEACE…it does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” –author unknown

By: Kristen Brown

In 2007, my healthy young husband Todd died of a heart attack in his sleep –at the age of thirty. He had no risk issues, he was a tall skinny former college athlete. After he died, I was in a pit of self-pity, anger, regret, sadness and grief – all wrapped together. At the same time, I was raising my ten month old daughter, who was two months old when her dad died.
In addition to the financial and job challenges after Todd died I was stressed beyond imagination. I was sick all the time. My brain was foggy, and I couldn’t sleep. My hair was falling out. I was a mess, but I couldn’t figure out how to dig myself out of the deep depression holding me. I was not willing to go down the prescription and anti-depressant road.
I knew I needed some help, so I turned to natural supplements to support my body and brain. I experimented with short of illegal that had been shown to improve stress and depression. Still I couldn’t find the right thing to help protect and support multiple body systems from the damage stress chemicals can cause when they build up and circulate over time.
So I created one: Happy Hour Effect. I am not a chemist or pharmaceutical expert or herbalist, but through all of the experimentations, I had also done a lot of research on natural remedies. I put together a formula of ingredients I thought would be effective in targeting the many symptoms stress was causing for me. I did more research and found an FDA-approved lab to help me determine the right ratios of ingredients I took a chance and flew out to GNC, for their New Vendor Day. They accepted the product and placed a big order. Unfortunately, the cost of selling a health supplement is huge product liability insurance, product storage fees, shipping expenses, it was too much for me to manage on my own, so when the product neared its expiration date in 2012, I made the hard decision to let that part of my business go, and to focus on work/life harmony, and entrepreneurship speaking, coaching, and media.

I started my business, Happy Hour Effect, and wrote, self-published and promoted my first book, “The Best and Worst Thing;” detailing my life after my husband died. Much to my surprise it became an Amazon best seller which helped me secure an agent and multiple offers from traditional publishers for my second book.

A lot of people have asked me: How did you make this work – being a young widow and a single mom- and sometimes having to take a day job? It’s because I never, ever quit-even when money was tight, even when people were telling me I was crazy, and even when people were criticizing me for making different choices.

 

The Key to success: You have to figure out how to move past difficult things, and not let them drag you down. The past is the past, and we’ve all got loads of crap in our past; let it go, keep moving forward. Tomorrow is a new day.

For more information on Kristen Brown and The Happy Hour Effect:

http://happyhoureffect.com/

kristen@happyhoureffect.com

 

 

Share Your Thoughts

