I ASKED THE WOMEN FROM THE BOOK WHAT THEY’VE BEEN UP TO…HERE’S GLORIA’S ANSWER!

gloriaThe biggest news is that my 3rd book, the story of my husband’s youth during WWII in Indonesia, is coming out soon. Darkness in Paradise will be available within the next month or so. It is being published by Archway Publishing and the final galley has just been reviewed.

I have been busy with life stories and have recently completed several for hospice patients. I spoke recently to the Pastoral Care Academy in Stillwater about writing the hospice life stories, and after a quick tally, discovered that I’ve done more than 60 of them over the past five years. I am thrilled to be able to provide this service for the families of Lakeview hospice patients.

I will be appearing soon on SPNN TV with Nadia Giordana to talk about the importance of writing our memoirs, as well as sharing some ideas of how to do it. Capturing memories is important to me. I believe that we need to remember our past to do well in the present. The past is the root in all of us, and it’s important for the younger generation to understand where we came from.

Memories of Lake Elmo, published in 2013, is the history of a small Minnesota town, written as the result of more than 120 interviews of local residents. I have done a number of speaking events with neighborhood groups about the book since then, with some still scheduled.

In my “spare time,” I continue to do proofreading and editing for others. http://www.gloriavan.com/#!books/cnec

Can’t wait to see the SPNN episode! Thanks Gloria

Share Your Thoughts

